Do I Need to Report a Car Accident in Florida?
In Florida, you must immediately contact law enforcement for accidents
involving an injury, death, or property damage greater than $500 (Sec. 316.065). The police officer will submit a report for these types of accidents.
For accidents that do not require a police report (such as minor car damage),
or where no police investigation was conducted, the driver must file a
crash report within ten days (Sec. 316.066).
Florida Auto Insurance:
Florida has a no-fault insurance system which means each driver's medical
bills and related expenses are covered first by his or her own insurance
carrier, regardless of fault (Sec. 627.731 et seq.). However, for property damage, you can pursue a claim against the at-fault
driver's insurance. Every driver must carry at least $10,000 in personal
injury protection (PIP) insurance and $10,000 of property damage liability
insurance (Sec. 627.736).
file a claim with your insurance company as soon as possible.