Skip to content

Get to know Florida’s texting and driving laws.

Florida updated its distracted driving laws in 2019. Device use while driving, including email, instant messaging, texting and typing, now constitutes a primary offense.

Review and abide by the changes to stay safe on Florida roads.

What is a primary offense?

Before, drivers could only receive a citation for texting and driving after an officer stopped them for another offense. Now, device use behind the wheel is a primary offense. That means a police officer can stop a driver and issue a ticket even when the motorist did not also commit another infraction.

Does the law ban all device use?

Florida does allow some exceptions. Motorists can use voice commands to text and operate other apps that have hands-free functionality. However, drivers cannot use hands-free headsets in school or work zones.

In addition, the state allows device use in completely-self driving vehicles, for navigation purposes, when reporting a crime, when receiving information in a crisis situation or when working as a first responder.

What are the penalties?

Drivers who violate the updated law receive a $30 ticket plus fees for the first offense and $60 for the second offense. Courts can order higher fees for work and school zone violations.

Florida also issues three license points for a second texting offense. Drivers will receive a 30-day license suspension if they accumulate 12 points in a year. Other point-based offenses include speeding and reckless driving.

Device use behind the wheel causes a disproportionate number of serious motor vehicle accidents. Motorists can stay safe by stowing their smartphones except when engaging in approved use with appropriate hands-free technology.


Other Articles

December 14, 2023

Tragic Car Accident Claims a Life in Venice FL

Read Article

October 26, 2022

How Does a Bodily Injury Claim Work?

Read Article

June 27, 2022

Why You Need UM Motorist Coverage

Read Article

November 8, 2021

Big rig crashes and safety features that might reduce accidents

Read Article

Tell Us About
Your Case

Contact Us


Contact Gerber Law today

Please call 941-484-2700 for a free consultation if another person’s negligence has injured you or has injured or killed a family member. Unlike large companies, the firm treats clients in a personal and caring way.