Skip to content

When can you sue after a fall in Florida?.

Some slip-and-fall accidents can result in serious, debilitating injuries such as brain damage and broken bones. If negligence contributes to an accident, the injured person can file a legal claim in Florida for related costs such as medical bills and lost wages.

Review the factors that affect slip and fall accident liability in the Sunshine State.

Liability for slip and fall accidents

For a successful case, the plaintiff must prove that the property owner failed to live up to the expected duty of care. For example, a person may have a claim if he or she slips on a wet floor in a store that staff did not mark with cones or caution signs.

The injured party can file a claim with the property owner’s home or commercial insurance policy. They can also file a lawsuit in lieu of an insurance claim.

Comparative negligence in Florida

Florida also uses the comparative negligence standard. That means that the defendant can argue that the plaintiff had partial responsibility for the accident. In the example above, the plaintiff may have been on a smartphone and not paying attention when the fall occurred.

In this case, the judge or jury can reduce the plaintiff’s financial award by his or her determined percentage of fault. If medical expenses, lost wages and other damages total $80,000 and the plaintiff was 20% at fault, he or she would receive $64,000.

Florida gives injured parties four years from the date of the incident to file a lawsuit. After the statute of limitations passes, the court will dismiss the legal claim.


Other Articles

September 5, 2023

Steps to Take After a Personal Injury in Venice, Florida

Read Article

July 7, 2023

What Should You Do After a Slip & Fall Accident?

Read Article

October 18, 2021

How can different vehicles safely share the road?

Read Article
Missing Post Featured Image

September 15, 2021

Strict liability: When are Florida dog owners responsible for bites?

Read Article

Tell Us About
Your Case

Contact Us


Contact Gerber Law today

Please call 941-484-2700 for a free consultation if another person’s negligence has injured you or has injured or killed a family member. Unlike large companies, the firm treats clients in a personal and caring way.